Katreena Bryan
Katreena Bryan

Katreena Bryan, who also goes by "Kat," is the new Post Office clerk at Eastern New Mexico University.

She discusses her new role and her favorite thing about ENMU:

Tell us about yourself:

I grew up in Dugway Proving Grounds, Utah, which is a small army base. I lived there for 10 years with my family before joining the military. My dad was in the Marines and the Army Reserves for a combined total of 20 years. My mom is a wonderful and brilliant homemaker who helped raise my other four siblings.

I completed four years of service with the Air Force. I was an administrative assistant and postal worker. I don't have a degree yet, but I'm looking to get my Associates in Nursing after I settle into my new job.

What drew you to this position at ENMU?

It was a chance for me to help the Portales community through its students. Being a part of an academic institution never really lost its charm for me. Being part of the staff offers me the chance to experience university life a little bit, as well as contribute to it.

What are your job duties?

I make sure the students and faculty get their mail in a timely manner, as well as the other entities that are connected to the University.

What do you enjoy the most about your job?

Knowing that the mail I deliver brightens someone's day one way or another.

What goals do you have for your position?

To lighten the workload at the post office and be a good worker. I'm also looking to add to the productivity of the Post Office, as well as expand students' knowledge about various services offered through USPS.

What is your favorite thing about ENMU?

University life, honestly. I really can't accurately describe it, but it's this weird mixture of indolence and being studious that you can only get when you work at a university. I love it. It's waking up at 10 a.m. on a day with evening/night classes and walking around eating cereal in fuzzy pajamas and a messy bun. Like, nobody blinks an eye at that. You're in the library downing your preferred energy drink/beverage, hyped up on nerves and powered by like, two hours of sleep. But you're in the perfect place to do that, and people understand that you'll use unorthodox methods to chase your dreams and goals.

What are your hobbies?

Singing, reading and writing.

Favorite place you have traveled?

England. It rains for most of the year, year after year, but it's so lovely. The culture there is a lot more relaxed. You have people closing up shop early, like at 5 p.m. to spend time with their families. There's a lot of history when you visit cities like Cambridge, London and Bath. The attitude towards tea time is very indulgent, and there's no shortage of places to travel, even within the country. I honestly miss it and hope to go visit it in the future.

Tell us about your family. Any pets?

I live with my wife in Clovis; no pets so far, but that should change when we eventually move out of state.

Who influences you? Who is your role model?

The men and women from my previous squadron have influenced me to work harder, stay positive and never give up. They were selfless, making sure my transition to the civilian side was as smooth as possible. They are the reason why I insist on being a good part of the workplace, no matter where I may work.

What is an interesting fact about you?

I started reading at the age of three, according to my mom.